An overview of EAU Congress history


Amsterdam, The Netherlands

13-16 June 1990

Willy Gregoir Medal 1990

R. Hohenfellner,
Mainz (DE)

Frans Debruyne

9th EAU Congress

13-16 June 1990
Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Facts & figures

1,500 participants
1,500 abstracts submitted
Chair of the Scientific Committee: Prof. Tage Hald
Foundation of the EAU Historical Committee by Dr. Johan Mattelaer

After the fall of the Berlin Wall, the EAU transformed itself from a small group of 400 members to an international organisation.  A large number of urologists from Central and Eastern Europe also linked up with the EAU. Prof. Frans Debruyne also invited urologists from North America, Japan, Australia and Asia. The Amsterdam congress will no doubt be remembered as one of the most successful and scientifically significant EAU congresses.  At the Amsterdam congress the EAU truly became an “open” association.