An overview of EAU Congress history

Copenhagen, Denmark 2018

Copenhagen, Denmark

16-20 March 2018

EAU Crystal Matula Award 2018

S. Silay
Istanbul (TR)

EAU Willy Gregoir Medal

Naples (IT)

EAU Hans Marberger Award

D. Dalela
Detroit (USA)

EAU Frans Debruyne Life Time Achievment Award

D. Jacqmin,
Strassbourg (FR)

EAU Prostate Cancer Research Award

H. Ahmed
London (GB)

EAU Ernest Desnos Prize

S. Musitelli
Zibido San Giocomo (IT)

33rd Annual EAU Congress

16-20 March 2018
Copenhagen, Denmark

Facts & Figures

10,879 participants
4676 abstracts ubmitted, 1427 accepted
53 ESU Courses and 45 ESU Hands-on Training courses

UROlympics took place for the first time.

The Expert-Guided Poster Tours prove to be popular among many participants.

EAU Guidelines Cup

The EAU Guidelines Cup was held for the first time and attracted enthusiastic participation from many countries


European Commissioner for Health & Food Safety, as guest speaker in the Opening Ceremony, cited the EAU’s contributions to the European Reference Networks through its involvement in eUROGEN. The programme also marked the first EAU Ernest Desnos Prize given to inaugural awardee Prof. Sergio Musitelli.

Copenhagen, Denmark 1984

Copenhagen, Denmark

23-26 May 1984

Flemming Lund

6th EAU Congress

23-26 May 1984
Copenhagen, Denmark

Facts & Figures

475 Participants
Chair of the Scientific Committee: Prof. John Blandy
Chair of the Film Committee: Prof. Walter De Sy
English was adopted as the sole language for future congresses

Prof. Steg

The first post graduate teaching day was held at the Rigshospital and tackled two themes: ‘Surgery of the uretero-vesical junction’ and ‘Cancer of the testicles’. The second day took place at Herlev Hospital where a presentation of ‘Urinary Incontinence’ was given and followed by a discussion on ‘Shrinkage of the urethra’. Four Club Meetings were held on Wednesday supplemented with film presentations and, for the first time, video footage. Topics discussed during the Round Table discussions were: Vesical cancer, Andrology, Prostate cancer, Recent findings in the treatment of lithiasis.

Prof. A. Steg (FR) was elected Secretary General and succeeded Prof. Gregoir.