An overview of EAU Congress history

Amsterdam, The Netherlands 2022

Amsterdam, The Netherlands

1-4 July 2022

EAU Crystal Matula Award 2022

V. Kasivisvanathan
London, United Kingdom

EAU Willy Gregoir Medal 2022

K-E. Andersson
Lund, Sweden

EAU Hans Marberger Award 2022

A. Martini
Milan, Italy

EAU Frans Debruyne Life Time Achievement Award 2022

J. Palou
Barcelona, Spain

EAU Prostate Cancer Research Award 2022

T. Nordström
Stockholm, Sweden

EAU Innovators in Urology Award 2022

Y. Fradet
Quebec, Canada

EAU Ernest Desnos Prize 2022

A. Jardin
On behalf of the Cercle Félix Guyon
Paris, France

37th Annual EAU Congress

1-4 July 2022
Amsterdam, the Netherlands

Amsterdam, The Netherlands 1990

Amsterdam, The Netherlands

13-16 June 1990

Willy Gregoir Medal 1990

R. Hohenfellner,
Mainz (DE)

Frans Debruyne

9th EAU Congress

13-16 June 1990
Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Facts & figures

1,500 participants
1,500 abstracts submitted
Chair of the Scientific Committee: Prof. Tage Hald
Foundation of the EAU Historical Committee by Dr. Johan Mattelaer

After the fall of the Berlin Wall, the EAU transformed itself from a small group of 400 members to an international organisation.  A large number of urologists from Central and Eastern Europe also linked up with the EAU. Prof. Frans Debruyne also invited urologists from North America, Japan, Australia and Asia. The Amsterdam congress will no doubt be remembered as one of the most successful and scientifically significant EAU congresses.  At the Amsterdam congress the EAU truly became an “open” association.