An overview of EAU Congress history


London, United Kingdom

24-28 March

EAU Crystal Matula Award 2017

C. Gratzske, Munich, Germany

EAU Willy Gregoir Medal 2017

P. Abrams, Bristol, United Kingdom

EAU Frans Debruyne Life Time Achievement Award 2017

P-A. Abrahamsson, Malmo, Sweden

EAU Innovators in Urology Award 2017

R. Turner-Warwick, Exeter, United Kingdom

EAU Prostate Cancer Research Award 2017

M. Shiota, Fukuoka, Japan

32nd Annual EAU Congress

22-28 March 2017
London, United Kingdom



Facts & Figures

12,627 participants
abstracts submitted, accepted abstracts
52 ESU Courses and  51 ESU HOT sessions

New sessions in the Scientific Programme

Special sessions such as the Prostate Cancer Prevention Group, the 4th European School of Oncology (ESO) Prostate Cancer Observatory and the EAU Patient Information Project preceded the main Scientific Programme. These special sessions focused on a wide range of prostate cancer (PCa) issues and treatment dilemmas. Highlights in urological cancers included early PCa detection and screening, and patient selection for immunotherapy in bladder cancer.For the first time, two simultaneous plenary sessions were held during the first three congress days, including a debate-styled session (on renal cancers) called “Sleepless Nights” which involved the cross-examination of expert urologists by a prominent lawyer

Prof. Sonksen, Herlev (DK) is elected the new Secretary General & Executive Member Clinical Practice

A new Section Office is created; The ESUO (EAU Section of Urologists in Office)

  • EAU17 in London receives the highest amount of visitors ever
  • During the congress, several interviews with professor Drake were broadcasted at BBC Radio
  • EAU wins an award for best Best TV Channel at a congress